2015 Korea Trip – Part 2

When it comes to travelling, I’m no expert on the subject. Sure, I’ve been around to some places so tips and recommendations, I can do but I have no sense of direction and I’d get lost just going home, so backpacking on my own is a huge NO for me. But you know, getting lost is part of the adventure! At the end, you can just take a cab going back to your hotel/hostel/house (If you absolutely have to). We found ourselves getting lost from time to time in Korea, so google maps was our best friend during our stay there!

There was one night, we got lost in Hongdae cause we decided to take a stroll around at night, we ended up walking so far and we were so busy talking that we didn’t know where we were walking to! SMART! I know. But it was fun even though our feet hurt like hell when we got back to our hostel.

During our stay in Korea, we’ve had our fair share of setbacks. Like visiting a place to find out that they were closed for the day. CLOSED! We didn’t anticipate it cause they were all tourist spots. I’M TALKING TO YOU HANOK VILLAGE AND K-LIVE!! (huge sigh)

IMG_4269 IMG_4271 IMG_4293 IMG_4298 IMG_4518IMG_4516

And don’t get me started on the Seoul City Wall. LOL – It wasn’t closed but it was definitely confusing and we didn’t stay long due to the call of nature! Haha!

We also went to the Dongdaemun Design Plaza! There you’ll see different structures and a field of LED roses. It’s really beautiful at night. We hung out at some café just to wait for night fall so we can enjoy the view.

IMG_4233 IMG_4234 IMG_4511 IMG_4512

Oh! I also finally got to visit a DOG CAFÉ! Yey! I wanted to visit a dog café the first time round but the people that I was with were no fun. The dogs were so cute and energetic! They were even able to train one of them to collect menus and bring it back to the counter! It was cool. Sad, I didn’t have a photo of that dog.

IMG_4527 IMG_4528 IMG_4529 IMG_4530

You can also check out the Seoul Tower. It’s one of the most recommended tourist spots but be prepared to be in lovey dovey land cause most of the locals go there to date and what not because I have to say, the sight is beautiful. Also, if you’re afraid of heights.. Well.. Man up! It’s a must-see and must-experience — LOL. It’s also famous for it’s wall filled with locks “Locks of Love”. If you plan on adding your own locks, come prepared because they sell locks for about 4-5$. Oh! Plus, they also added tiles to the mix. Inside the souvenir shop, you can buy a tile and dedicate it to your significant other.  BUT, oh my friends, sadly, THE TEDDY BEAR MUSEUM CLOSED DOWN. 😦 I was so excited to go for another round but alas, it’s gone.

IMG_4380 IMG_4384 IMG_4388 IMG_4394

There’s a lesson to be learned here.

  1. Always check the schedules of the place you plan to visit.
  2. Download a subway map of Korea on your phone (Taking the subway is way cheaper than a taxi)
  3. Have a back-up plan just in case.
  4. Always bring a portable charger because you’ll be using your phone a lot.

Well, I hope you guys learned from my mistakes. I have a part 3 and that’s the K-POP stuff, so if you’re into it.. Stay tuned! 🙂

IMG_0065

Leave a Reply

