The Sound of Silence Challenge

I’ll be honest, I took on this challenge cause just a few days ago I was sick and my throat hurt so every time I tried to speak, it would hurt and my voice would sound hoarse.
So without knowing it, I took on the challenge of not speaking. I stayed in my room where I was meant to be and would only go out when I needed a refill of water or some food. Oh! I also had this drink with mashed up ginger in it. It felt good on my throat. 🙂
Looking back, I realised that even though I wasn’t making a sound, I needed some way to communicate with my mom and I got so bored that I SMSed almost everyone I could get a hold of. And I was watching my favorite feel-good comedy series “The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air”. I wrote a blog about it as well 🙂 Haha!
Anyway, being a communication major, I found it difficult to be in complete silence for a long time, yes, I wasn’t making a sound from my mouth but in terms of environment and company, I failed completely. I needed to keep sane by doing all these things cause I’m so used to life outside my room whether it’s going to work, going out with friends/family or spending what little time I have with my boyfriend.
The next day, I was better cause my fever was gone but so still was my voice. Even though it hurt or sounded weird, I still chose to talk. I guess I’m just not the type to stay silent especially around those that I’m comfortable with. 🙂
3 thoughts on “The Sound of Silence Challenge

  1. Jenni says:

    Really enjoyed your post but ahhh don’t know how to put this I think the image you used at the top is that from a campaign about breaking the silence on rape – if it is not the same picture then it is exacting the same format as that campaign. Sorry:(

Leave a Reply

